Fish Forums banner

Once a fishtank enthusiast, always a fishtank enthusiast...

1K views 16 replies 9 participants last post by  C. King 
#1 ·
Hi! I have had fishtanks since about 1980, worked at a nice fish store when I was younger, ao I'm not a total newbie. However, I have not had a tank in about 10 years, because I moved across the country and had to give away my beloved breeder pair of angels which broke my heart. Just lost interest after that. Six months ago,I decided to dig out my old (ancient!) 20 gal. tank and give it a go once more. This tank is probably a collectors item by now--glass sides, slate bottom, shiney stainless steel edges and hood! But still looks like new,and still holds water! They just dont make 'em like that, anymore, huh? Of course, the silly light in the hood was completely inadequate, especially since I decided to go for a planted tank, which is a new thing for me. Seems that a planted tank is a whole new kind of beastie, with special requirements for light, bottom material, etc., but I love a challenge. So, I now have a lovely little set up, two angels who are gowing fast & looking like a pair, and some cardinal tetras and cherry barbs. I am so happy to have a tank again--forgot how fun they can be! And, boy, have things changed in the past 10 yrs or so! Which means I will be asking a few questions on this forum, No doubt. It's nice to have a forum to meet some fellow fish enthusiasts--didn't have that 10 yrs. ago, either! (I posted a question about a unidentified pleco on the catfish forum, if you have some pleco expertise your input will be greatly appreciated.)

#2 ·
welcome, same as you bud... was 20 years for me and recently got my daughter a tank then a week later got myself a 190L lol, like riding a bike, it all comes back to you slowly lol

#6 · (Edited)