Fish Forums banner

Tips For A Saltwater Beginner ~

2K views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  cossie 
#1 ·
Hey you all!

I'm looking to switch my 55 gallon freshwater to a saltwater. It looks like I am going to have to get rid of all my equipment and replace w/ new equipment?
I have been reading up a lot on what will be necessary to maintain a healthy saltwater aquarium, and will continue to do so, but I would also love some advice from you all!

So........I would like to go all out w/ fish and plants.......
If you owned a tank like this, what equipment would you use, and what advice could you give me?

One important things is I'd like to do this as cheaply as possible, though I know it will still be rather expensive. I'm just a poor college student! o:

I found one $26 saltwater filter for a 55 gallon at Petco:
http://www.petco.com/product/2402/Marineland-Penguin-BIO-Wheel-Power-Filters.aspx

Would this be a good filter? I was thinking I could possibly use the more expensive 70 gallon filter to make it cleaner, though I was worried about water pressure haha

Thanks for your advice in advance! :)

See less See more
#2 ·
First off... don't feed the vultures... don't shop at petco. It seems that you have confused corals with plants. I would suggest reading a bit more before getting into saltwater.

#3 · (Edited)
Hi, foxxi, welcome to the forum! I do not have a saltwater tank, but have often considered it- here's what I considered: 1. MONEY:Salt water tanks are just plain more expensive! The price for one fish or invertabrates, corals, etc. is more than freshwater. Sometimes, way more. 2. TIME: Salt is a bit more touchy, and so, a good saltwater aquariast has to spend plenty of time on his new hobby. 3.STABILITY: Moving an aquarium is stressful; stressful to you, and to the fish. Potentially deadly, to the fish. Saltwater even more so.