Fish Forums banner

What am I doing wrong?

4K views 53 replies 11 participants last post by  weedkiller 
#1 · (Edited)
Ive been cycling my tank for about 2 months and somethings not right. btw, im doing a fishless cycle. At first everything was working fine. about 8 days i got my first decrease in ammonia and seen nitrite. Great, im making progress. It got to where my ammonia level would drop down to almost yellow and id add more to it to bring the levels back up to about 4ppm. Well last week my ammonia spiked without me even adding any:confused: So I leave it be and not put to much thought in it. Well today I checked it again and got the same dark green result with a lighter colored purple then usual and some nice orange nitrate. Is everything going as planned or did I fubar something along the way.

Heres a picture of most recent test results.

btw, will water temperature effect cycle process?

See less See more
#2 ·
have you added anything to the tank that you have washed in tapwater?
bogwood soaked in tapwater?
always wash things in dechlorinated tapwater if you must before it goes in the tank but dont wash anything in the tank while its on its cycle.
dont do any water changes till it has cycled..
turn your temps up to about 80 to cycle faster and plenter of air
just be patient, add your ammo when needed to get to 4ppm or abouts,

#3 ·
Thats just it. I havn't done nothing but let it sit there. Not added anything, not taken anything out, no water changes. I just check it daily and add ammonia when I need to. Will water temp affect it because it did get really cold last week.

#4 ·
depends how cold, have you no heater in the tank?
get one if not and get it up to 80 and add an airstone,
maybe you overdosed the ammonia?
just keep patient an go with it, keep calm and dont panic

#6 ·