Fish Forums banner

Live Rock

1K views 11 replies 5 participants last post by  TheOldSalt 
#1 ·
I'm a beginner to the salt water keeping, I've recently started my first small set-up
It is a 10g set-up
I have a fluval 106 external filter,
Hagen 50w heater

I have got my salinity levels perfect and my temperature is doing fine

Today I have picked up some pre-cured live rock from my LFS and I was just hoping I could get some feedback on my choices of live rock that I have added to my tank, possibly tell me if I seem to have some good algae and anything I may have missed that may be interesting,

Pictures are below,

Thanks
Organism Underwater Water Bedrock Reef

Water Wood Trunk Plant Artifact

Water Underwater Marine biology Coral Reef

Plant Water Grass Aquatic plant Underwater

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
Did you cure your rock first before putting it your tank?

A HOB filter is doable but a skimmer would do a better job keeping your tank clean.
What kind of lighting do you have? If adding corals down the road, you may have to upgrade to better lighting.

Only 1, maybe 2 small fish (firefish, clown goby) maximum in a 10 gallon tank.

If you haven't done a lot of reading and research before starting up your first salt water tank, I can almost guarantee you will have problems in now time especially in a 10 gallon tank.

Do not add any fish until your tank is completely cycled! This may take up to 4 - 8 weeks. ALWAYS QT your fish before adding them to your tank.

Remember - your LFS is only out to make money and could care less if your tank/fish dies.

Do yourself a huge favor and invest and read a book called: "The Conscientious Marine Aquarist"

#4 ·
The rock was pre-cured, there appears to be some creatures thriving inside of the rock and also I suspect that there is also a small anemone hitchhiking

I am using a purigen pouch in my filter which I was advised will act as a protein skimmer for now.