New to Aquariums - FishForums.com
Logo


members chatting


Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:



Go Back   FishForums.com > Freshwater > Beginner Freshwater

Beginner Freshwater You got questions? This is where to post them.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2012, 07:54 PM   #1
Geradmg513
Fishy Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Age: 30
Posts: 25
Default New to Aquariums

I am new to aquariums but I finally decided to get one. Just as a little background on my set up.

-56 Gallon column style tank that is 30Lx18Wx24H with all glass top
-2 Marineland LED lights (one on each side of the brace bar) the total lumens is 620.
-45lbs of Pure Water Pebbles Gravel
-6 Mini Fake Plants, 1 corner fake coral piece, and 1 large coral piece with spots to hide
-1 4" air-stone circle and 1 12" air stone bar
-Fusion 500 air pump with silicone hose and air check valves
-Hydor Theo 200w heater
-Rena Filstar XP3 Canister Filter

I have had it up and going for about 3 days now and I added a Bio-Boost bacterial agent which has left the water very cloudy over the last 2 days. I was told to wait it out that this is a bacterial bloom. I am to the point where I am not sure if I should add a few fish to assist in the cycle or if I should try to use the Tetra Safestart? I'm not really in a hurry to add fish I just want to make sure the cycle is right and complete. I have read so much conflicting information on adding fish, adding ammonia, use a bio-boost, don't use one etc.

When all is said and done I plan to add 2 Angel Fish, 2 Opaline Gouramis, a Loach, 2 cory cats, and maybe a couple Mollies
Geradmg513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-11-2012, 01:18 AM   #2
weedkiller
Senior Member
 
weedkiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Surrey England
Posts: 821
Default

everyones opinion is different, fishless cycle does take time and is less stress on fish, is my favourite
do your research into the pro's and con's of each and decide for yourself
__________________
2 Firemouth Cichlids
2 Silver Shark
5 Barbs
1 Bristlenose Pleco
1 Mega Clown Pleco
3 Guppies
weedkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 10:23 AM   #3
emc7
Moderator

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 12,030
Default

If you seed bacteria, you need to feed it or it will all die. You can use fish, you can use fish food (sans fish), you can use ammonia, you can use frozen shrimp. If you do it w/o fish it is a fishless cycle and that makes it impossible to kill the fish during cycling. 56 is a lot of water. If you don't do fishless, you could do a gradual loading, starting w/ only one or two fish.

Always test ammonia and nitrite before adding fish.
emc7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 06:29 PM   #4
graceful.04
Aquatic Addict
 
graceful.04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 229
Blog Entries: 8
Default

I actually am curious as well. Where on earth can you get ammonia that's safe for aquariums? And is it really ok to put fish food in as an ammonia source?
__________________
Fish seller and breeder
Hit me up at my online aquarium store!

http://indeepwateronline.com/
graceful.04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 06:40 PM   #5
lohachata
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Age: 69
Posts: 7,924
Default

i have tried with a lot of ways to cycle a tank...while i prefer to use fish to cycle , i am more experienced with the process...
fish food is fine to use as is pure ammonia that you can get from the hardware store...find an Ace Hardware in your area...but understand that even still your tank is not going to be ready for fish for several weeks..
i also like seeding the tank with the bacteria from an established tank..grundgy filter media is great for this..using water from another tank is worthless..almost no bacteria...bacteria grows on hard surfaces...
__________________
PLECOCAINE = feeding frenzy=PLECOCAINE


if we ignore nature;maybe it will go away

10 gallon..nothing but air

10 gallon...just more air

10 gallon...stale air

just don't ask about the rest
lohachata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 07:06 PM   #6
Vayurules
Always Learning
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Louisville, KY
Age: 15
Posts: 188
Default

Grungy filter? Check. What about moving pieces of like, slate that have sat in an established aquarium? Could I put some in the tank with the grungy filter and I could add fish in a day or two, depending on GPH of the filter?
__________________
20 Gallon Rio Orinoco Biotope (High):
  • 1 Clown Pleco
Vayurules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 08:39 PM   #7
lohachata
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Age: 69
Posts: 7,924
Default

yep...anything with a solid surface...
like emc said...i wouldn't add more than a couple of fish at a time...
always check ammonia and nitrite levels before adding fish..
__________________
PLECOCAINE = feeding frenzy=PLECOCAINE


if we ignore nature;maybe it will go away

10 gallon..nothing but air

10 gallon...just more air

10 gallon...stale air

just don't ask about the rest
lohachata is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help. New to aquariums kf4djv7 Introductions 3 09-16-2012 10:33 AM
big aquariums goldseverum109 Equipment & Technologies 3 03-11-2007 08:15 PM
New here and to aquariums Kids n Fish Introductions 7 01-26-2006 12:52 PM
My Aquariums micstarz Fish and Aquarium Pictures 11 01-18-2006 01:49 AM
Koi in Aquariums amelia Goldfish, Koi, and Ponds 4 08-26-2005 12:35 PM