Fishless Cycle - FishForums.com
Logo


members chatting


Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:



Go Back   FishForums.com > Freshwater > Beginner Freshwater

Beginner Freshwater You got questions? This is where to post them.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2012, 03:00 PM   #1
WetWork
Fishy Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Age: 26
Posts: 44
Default Fishless Cycle

It has been a week since adding my pure ammonia to about 5 ppm. I have also been dosing seachem stability just to see if it would speed it up. I checked ammonia yesterday and it had decreased quite a bit in a 24 hour period. I checked today and it looked like it was about .25 ppm. I checked Nitrite and it was about 5 ppm. I dosed more ammonia up to 4 ppm to keep the bacteria fed. I am actually showing about 40 ppm nitrate as well. Since I am showing nitrate does this mean I am getting close to my cycle being complete?
WetWork is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-17-2012, 04:44 PM   #2
MrKrabs
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Age: 43
Posts: 61
Default

How big is your tank and what fish are you getting?
MrKrabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:44 PM   #3
emc7
Moderator

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 12,091
Default

Yes, seeing nitrate usually means you are close to "cycled". There are things that can mess up the readings (additives with nitrate in them, etc.).

You are cycled when the ammonia and nitrite readings stay or quickly drop back to 0 and the nitrate climbs when you add ammonia.

Test it several times (add ammonia, test) over at least a day, maybe 2 or 3 to sure the bacteria are living in your filter and not dying off. Sometimes "bottle" cycles don't "take" and you go back to reading climbing ammonia or nitrite.

But if ammonia & nitrite quick drop to 0 after you add 4 ppm dose, you are "cycled" and then you do a huge water change (to get rid of all the nitrate) and you can add fish the next day. Don't forget to dechlor. Anything that kills your filter bacteria will send you back to "new tank" status.
emc7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 08:07 PM   #4
WetWork
Fishy Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Age: 26
Posts: 44
Default

emc- Thanks for the info.

MrKrabs- My tank is 50 gallons.. I will be going with a cichlid tank, I have pretty soft water so I will be getting ones that can handle soft water like Jewels and Kribs.
WetWork is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fishless Cycle FRIENDLYFISHIES General Freshwater 5 11-04-2012 11:26 AM
fishless cycle pokagon55 General Freshwater 4 12-04-2006 09:06 AM
Fishless Cycle rcomeau Equipment & Technologies 16 05-20-2006 08:28 AM
fishless cycle..... Scuba Kid General Freshwater 3 03-07-2005 04:44 AM
fishless cycle specialname76 General Freshwater 4 01-23-2005 11:35 AM