is my cycle stalled? - FishForums.com
Logo


members chatting


Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:



Go Back   FishForums.com > Freshwater > Beginner Freshwater

Beginner Freshwater You got questions? This is where to post them.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2012, 02:22 PM   #1
WetWork
Fishy Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Age: 26
Posts: 44
Default is my cycle stalled?

Alright i posted on here a week and half ago that i was leaving for 5 days and was given advice to just hold fast while i was gone....Before I left 4 ppm ammonia was being processed into nitrite after 24 hours...I got back two days ago and tested it was very low ammonia and above 5 ppm nitrite so i dosed ammonia up to 4 ppm and two days later its only at about 2ppm. Just wondering why my ammonia isnt being processed as fast. my nitrites have been above 5 ppm for about 2 weeks now. I am showing about 40 ppm of nitrates so obviously some of my nitrites are being processed. Any thoughts?
WetWork is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-29-2012, 03:02 PM   #2
emc7
Moderator

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 12,151
Default

low pH or temp can slow the cycle, or low flow (any power outages?). Or, and this one sucks, if either ammonia or nitrite gets too high it can kill both sorts of cycling bacteria, setting you back.
emc7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 03:26 PM   #3
WetWork
Fishy Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Age: 26
Posts: 44
Default

My ph has been 7.0 the whole process and temp has stayed steady at 80 degrees. Hopefully i havent killed my bacteria with too high of nitrite, maybe a water change is necessary?
WetWork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 05:22 PM   #4
Ice
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 49
Posts: 1,107
Default

Doesn't hurt to do a water change.
Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 12:31 AM   #5
MrKrabs
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Age: 43
Posts: 61
Default

I have several 10 and 20 gal guppy tanks. I don't cycle my water and my fish are healthy. I do change the water once maybe twice per week. My tanks are also not crowded. Going for quality not quantity.
MrKrabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 02:38 AM   #6
weedkiller
Senior Member
 
weedkiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Surrey England
Posts: 821
Default

be patient... keep your ammo at about 2ppm now, check ppm in the morning when u wake and about 12 hours later, try an keep to 2ppm (half of what you was now you have nitrites)
you must feed all the bacterias before you feed your fish
__________________
2 Firemouth Cichlids
2 Silver Shark
5 Barbs
1 Bristlenose Pleco
1 Mega Clown Pleco
3 Guppies
weedkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 04:28 PM   #7
WetWork
Fishy Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Age: 26
Posts: 44
Default

I am going to do a 50% water change just to bring some of those nitrites down. I was dosing Seachem Stabililty the whole cycle but had to stop for 5 days since I was out of town. I am wondering if thats what was converting ammo to trite so quickly. Maybe I should just continue without the stability, might have been giving me a false cycle.
WetWork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 05:32 PM   #8
TheOldSalt
Darth Ichthyos

 
TheOldSalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,755
Default

What?
You were dosing ammonia AND using Stability??

Don't do that. Stability has all the bacteria food it needs already in it. It also has de-nitrifying bacteria in it which often confuses people who don't realize that and get results they don't expect.

Do the water change, dose one more time with Stability, and let it run a few days without doing anything else. Then you should be ready for fish.
If it doesn't work as it should, then finish the stability regimen WITHOUT any ammonia.
TheOldSalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 06:38 PM   #9
WetWork
Fishy Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Age: 26
Posts: 44
Default

OldSalt thanks for the reply... I was dosing with Stability and adding ammonia because it said you can use it during cycle without adding fish so I just figured I needed to do both. Thank you for correcting me though i will just dose with stability and discontinue ammonia and hope for the best.
WetWork is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cycle help TU55LER Livebearers 4 07-17-2012 11:29 PM
How to cycle? xcourtney3 Beginner Freshwater 2 07-13-2011 05:42 AM
my cycle aidas_tank_keep User Journals 6 03-18-2008 06:55 PM
2.5 cycle? j-man the skater-man General Freshwater 2 11-11-2005 03:57 AM
cycle? bettaboi Bettas 2 02-02-2005 08:56 PM