Are 2 Marineland emperor 400 filters good enough for a 150 gallon? - FishForums.com
Logo


members chatting


Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:



Go Back   FishForums.com > Freshwater > Beginner Freshwater

Beginner Freshwater You got questions? This is where to post them.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2013, 06:37 PM   #1
l300lover
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Age: 36
Posts: 24
Default Are 2 Marineland emperor 400 filters good enough for a 150 gallon?

Wondering if 2 Marineland Emperor 400 filters are enough filtration for a 150gallon tank? Or should I be safe and do 3? Once my tank is cycled im going to add 3 wolf fish and they can get up to 20" but when I buy them they will be about 6 inches.
l300lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-31-2013, 12:10 PM   #2
graceful.04
Aquatic Addict
 
graceful.04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 229
Blog Entries: 8
Default

I'm really not sure, to be safe, check out aquadvisor. It will tell you if you have enough filtration
__________________
Fish seller and breeder
Hit me up at my online aquarium store!

http://indeepwateronline.com/
graceful.04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 12:37 PM   #3
lohachata
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Age: 69
Posts: 8,040
Default

no......they will not be enough...the very leas i would use is a Fluval FX5....even then it would be a bit under filtered..
__________________
PLECOCAINE = feeding frenzy=PLECOCAINE


if we ignore nature;maybe it will go away

10 gallon..nothing but air

10 gallon...just more air

10 gallon...stale air

just don't ask about the rest
lohachata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 07:55 PM   #4
tigercrazy4612
Fishy Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: georgia
Age: 22
Posts: 36
Default

agreed with the above comment you will never get a circulation going to completely filtrate all the tank they are no where near powerful enough my suggesstion get a fluval canister filter and add some circulation pumps!
tigercrazy4612 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 08:04 PM   #5
l300lover
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Age: 36
Posts: 24
Default

I already have 2 powerheads in the water will those work for circulation? You guys dont think 3 emperor 400's wil l be enough filter?
l300lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 08:18 PM   #6
lohachata
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Age: 69
Posts: 8,040
Default

the Fluval FX5 canister filter is rated at something like 935 GPH....not quite enough GPH ; but it will do fairly well..
__________________
PLECOCAINE = feeding frenzy=PLECOCAINE


if we ignore nature;maybe it will go away

10 gallon..nothing but air

10 gallon...just more air

10 gallon...stale air

just don't ask about the rest
lohachata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 10:22 PM   #7
emc7
Moderator

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 12,081
Default

Depends how you stock it. But for big fish, no. I put 2 400s on a 55.
emc7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 12:12 AM   #8
weedkiller
Senior Member
 
weedkiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Surrey England
Posts: 821
Default

I upgraded from a filter rated at 200l to 400l for a 190l tank because of 2 cichlids and 2 plecos, all big messy fish
__________________
2 Firemouth Cichlids
2 Silver Shark
5 Barbs
1 Bristlenose Pleco
1 Mega Clown Pleco
3 Guppies
weedkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 03:19 PM   #9
l300lover
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Age: 36
Posts: 24
Default

ok thanks guys.
l300lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Marineland Emperor and Penguin ? Geradmg513 Equipment & Technologies 3 12-04-2012 05:46 PM
Is a Marineland Canister Filter Magnum 350 too much for a 40 gallon tank? ILLBETHEJUDGE General Freshwater 4 04-18-2012 11:33 PM
Marineland filters and customer service mdel747 Equipment & Technologies 1 12-22-2008 09:34 AM
Are Marineland Emperor power filters any good? gus6464 Beginner Freshwater 7 09-10-2007 04:14 PM
Marineland Emperor 400 power filter.. ron v Equipment & Technologies 8 03-14-2006 08:52 PM