Salt mix - FishForums.com
Logo

members chatting

Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:

Go Back   FishForums.com > Saltwater > Beginner Saltwater

Beginner Saltwater Got questions? This is where you post them.

Old 01-15-2013, 10:29 PM   #1
Tro

Default Salt mix

I wouldn't say I am a beginner with salt water I have been in the hobby for about 3-4yrs. now but I have just in the past year began to get more serious about the hobby and began reasearching a lot, and realized I really didn't know anything but what I was told by the LFS (which wasn't a lot).

I am starting a new 180gal system soon so I am sure you all are going to get sick of all my questions!

My question for tonight is about salt mix for my current 90 gal tank. I have been using oceanic since I started my system. I have recently read that this is not a very good mix and decided to switch to Red sea coral pro(a mix that many people recommended to me).
Does anyone have input on either of these mixes? Also should I expect any negative affects on my live stock by switching them to a different salt mix after using the same one for many years?
Thanks for any help!
Tro is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-16-2013, 04:33 PM   #2
kay-bee

I've been a long time Oceanic salt mix user and the only issue I had with it was it was sometimes low on alkalinity (but since carbonate uptake by my corals is high I have to supplement carbonates anyway no matter what brand I use).

It's been awhile since I've been able to find it online so I've switched brands since then.

Is your 180gal set up going to be a reef tank or FOWLR? If the latter I would think it probably doesn't matter much which brand you use.

kay-bee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 05:35 PM   #3
Ice