Cross-breeding oscars & goldfish?????? - FishForums.com
Logo

members chatting

Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:

Go Back   FishForums.com > Freshwater > Breeding Freshwater Fish

Breeding Freshwater Fish Find out the different ways on breeding freshwater fish.

Old 11-06-2005, 01:28 AM   #1
Inspector___Dav

Unhappy Cross-breeding oscars & goldfish??????

In my mind this sounds crazy but I dunno I just started in this great hobby but the guy at petsmart was telling me that you can cross-breed an oscar with a goldfish. He said it's easily done and alot of people doit . Ok I'm thinking this guy is a little off but since I'm new to this hobby I just wanted to ask the guys and gals who know??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-06-2005, 07:26 AM   #2
Cichlid Man
Fish Executive

It's impossible. Cichlids and carp are sexually incompatable.
If you are telling the truth (which I doubt you are), then that LFS guy has either no experience in fish, or is having you on.
Old 11-06-2005, 08:47 AM   #3
Georgia Peach

thats the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard....

Cichlids have more personality than most people I know !
Georgia Peach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 10:45 AM   #4
wildtiger
"Salmon Free!"

I would have to agree, thats it's not possible. TBH I've never heard of Oscars crossing with anything.
wildtiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 11:26 AM   #5
Inspector___Dav

Well that's what I thought but the guy told me that and cichlidman I'm not just makin this up. I even said to the guy wouldn't the oscar kilkl the goldfish pretty quick and he said well it's gotta be a really big one. But they are still to peacful for an oscar no matter the size. I dunno what was up with this guy.
Old 11-06-2005, 11:30 AM   #6
wildtiger
"Salmon Free!"

I think he was just pullin your leg. You know us Texans like to tell tall tales.