My DIY AC500 refugium - FishForums.com
Logo


members chatting


Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:



Go Back   FishForums.com > General > DIY (Do It Yourself)

DIY (Do It Yourself) Find out what others have done to cut corners and save money on anything from aquariums to fish products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2005, 10:33 PM   #1
Osiris
Senior Member

 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 31
Posts: 4,218
Default My DIY AC500 refugium

Began making my 2nd DIY fuge, first one was a AC300, this is for the 29g, AC500:


$40.99 for the AC500 and i think $3.50 for the silicone:


Take everything out, then the media basket, simply just take apart into three pieces.



Here i took the bottem of the grill, and aligned it to where i would like to, purpose of this is to keep the macroalgae in the fuge.


And then here i positioned to where i want the baffle, i placed it this far in, so if i need to run carbon i can simply put it in there, and also the heater will be in here.



Ok so let's start siliconing, i placed enough silicone to hold that baby grill in place and then positioned and press down:



Also, siliconing the edges not a bad idea, just extra preventative.


Yea i dont have skills with silicone lol, lil mess but it won't hurt nothing:
I siliconed the baffle into place:


And here it is after all done:



In 48hrs it is tank ready, i will update you then with looks and lighting over it then....
__________________
Reality is for people who can't handle Science-Fiction
Osiris is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-10-2005, 03:37 PM   #2
fishboy
Enigma
 
fishboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,696
Default

can you show a picture of you other 1? i've never worked with a fuge but i'll do anything to get my heather into a seperate unit. Where do you insert media? I'd make a mini one out of my old cascade 80 if i could, i've been trying to do something with that old filter because i bought it before i knew anything about fish and later moved another tanks filter in its place and bought a penguin bio wheel 150 on my other tank
__________________
Necessity is the mother of invention.
fishboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 10:29 PM   #3
shev
Senior Member
 
shev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montana
Age: 25
Posts: 1,711
Default

whoa, thats awesome. great idea.
shev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 09:09 AM   #4
CMonroe
Fishy Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Age: 47
Posts: 26
Default

That is awesome and very funny because I was looking at my old Aquaclear, and thinking about doing the EXACT (I mean the EXACT) same thing with it. We are on the same wavelength

The only think that held me back, was a) I wasn't positive it would work, and b) I couldn't find the downtube and was going to pick one up at the LFS this weekend.

You must tell me how it worked out (before I buy the downtube if possible )

CMonroe...
CMonroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 01:49 PM   #5
Osiris
Senior Member

 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 31
Posts: 4,218
Default

Just to update and having alot of new member's this is a very good DIY fuge, this was 2nd one i had made, this one works flawlessly. I just pulled out over a gallon worth of Macro Cheato! Holds heck of alot!

Anyone have questions on it?
__________________
Reality is for people who can't handle Science-Fiction
Osiris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 03:10 PM   #6
leveldrummer
something like a pimp
 
leveldrummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: atlanta
Age: 35
Posts: 1,925
Default

i have a q? when you gonna have some extra cheeto?
__________________
The meek shall inherit the Earth. Big deal. By the time they get it the rest of us will have messed it all up.
leveldrummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 03:32 PM   #7
Osiris
Senior Member

 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 31
Posts: 4,218
Default

Sooner actually then anticipated! Was more cheato in the thing then i thought, i'll see what i can whip up for this weekend's auction!
__________________
Reality is for people who can't handle Science-Fiction
Osiris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 06:29 PM   #8
leveldrummer
something like a pimp
 
leveldrummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: atlanta
Age: 35
Posts: 1,925
Default

so where is the pic of it with a light running?
__________________
The meek shall inherit the Earth. Big deal. By the time they get it the rest of us will have messed it all up.
leveldrummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2006, 07:35 PM   #9
Fishboy93
Senior Member
 
Fishboy93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ft. Myers, FL
Age: 22
Posts: 642
Default

I plan on building one of these but i have one question. Does it overpower the 29?? I want to add one but it looks pretty big and dont know where it will fit on the back of the tank because its against a wall. Do you happen to have the dimensions?
__________________
29 Gallon Reef
Fishboy93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2006, 08:31 PM   #10
Reefneck
Senior Aquarist
 
Reefneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near a Coral Reef
Age: 53
Posts: 1,346
Default

I don't have the dimensions since I don't use one but it will NOT overpower a 29G tank. I use a under tank sump/fuge for all my systems but these work well for what they are intended. MP did a great job on this DIY thread.

You will need at least 4" of clearence behind your tank.
__________________

I wonder how much salt mix I would need to turn our in ground pool into a Reef.
Reefneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2006, 08:31 PM   #11
Osiris
Senior Member

 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 31
Posts: 4,218
Default

if i remember right it's like 6" away from the wall. Not at all you can purchase a surface skimmer for the aquaclear which i would recommend. Also if you think the flow is too much pull the impellar out and clip one of the wings off til you are pleased with flow.

The 10g operated on just 2 blades on the impellar.
__________________
Reality is for people who can't handle Science-Fiction
Osiris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 05:43 PM   #12
justintrask
Senior Member
 
justintrask's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mansfield, MA
Age: 27
Posts: 923
Default

will the filter still work fine if i clip a wing or two out?

I just got a red sea nano filter and the flow is really shifting my live sand around, so I want to reduce it a little bit.
justintrask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 11:38 AM   #13
Osiris
Senior Member

 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 31
Posts: 4,218
Default

Yea it will, ON something like that, i would start with one, and then move to two if think need to that's how i figured the proper speed on this project
__________________
Reality is for people who can't handle Science-Fiction
Osiris is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Refugium Only? Feelin_Salty Beginner Saltwater 5 02-19-2006 04:10 PM
refugium leveldrummer General Saltwater 4 02-02-2006 10:10 AM
AC300 Refugium & Waterproof LED moonlighting Osiris Want To Sell 2 10-05-2005 08:50 AM