Need a new light - FishForums.com
Logo


members chatting


Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:



Go Back   FishForums.com > Freshwater > Equipment & Technologies

Equipment & Technologies Find out what the latest and greatest equipment is in the market today. Post your findings or view what others have tested.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2012, 11:37 AM   #1
guster730
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Age: 19
Posts: 6
Default Need a new light

I've had my eye on these two due to their low price and good reviews

http://www.aquatraders.com/48-inch-4...e-p/52305p.htm

http://www.aquatraders.com/ProductDe...uctCode=52123P

I'm just wondering if the first one is overkill. I have a 55 gallon with a few plants. I don't have any fancy substrate, just pool filter sand. I use seachem flourish but my amazon swords are doing pretty terribly, others are just ok. No doubt it's that my lights are terrible. They came with my aquarium, just some "all glass aquarium" fixtures, one of them doesn't turn on unless I flick it on and off. I believe they're only 12 watt bulbs, so I need a lot more than that. I'm just wondering are there any better lights that don't cost too much more, and if not, which one of these should I get? 216w just seems like a lot to leave on like 8 hours a day.
guster730 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2012, 11:56 AM   #2
C. King
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: SD
Posts: 448
Default

I have had an odyssea for 3 months and have been very satisfied. Mine has four flourescent bulbs and two switches that control two bulbs each. I replaced two bulbs with plant lights, so I can turn on the regular ones, or the plant ones, or both, depending on what is needed. That way, I can control the number of hours of high intensity light in my tank, but still see the fish when I dont want so much light. My odyssea also has a moonlight feature, which is cool at night to view nocturnals. Hope this helps!
__________________
20 gal; well planted
2 angelfish
4 cherrybarbs
5 cardinal tetras
1 dwarf gourami
3 oto catfish
1 bristlenose pleco
1 crown tail betta
2 rasboras
1 cory cat
a few shrimp
C. King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 12:04 PM   #3
guster730
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Age: 19
Posts: 6
Default

Well they sell two different versions of each, the one's I linked come with 4 (or 2 with the other model) 6500K plant bulbs. Maybe I'll just go with the quad and keep 2 on at a time and alternate. I would like to have the blue LEDs as I do have some nocturnal fish. But I may need to take off my lid for it to fit.
guster730 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 12:20 PM   #4
C. King
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: SD
Posts: 448
Default

Yeah, I had to do a little rearranging to fit my retro tank, too. But the "legs" on the odessea are adjustable-they can move in or out to fit the tank width, and I like that they also raise the light fixture up a bit from the top of the tank, so even with a high water level, I don't worry about splashing the fixture. A clear plexiglass covers the bulbs to protect them.
__________________
20 gal; well planted
2 angelfish
4 cherrybarbs
5 cardinal tetras
1 dwarf gourami
3 oto catfish
1 bristlenose pleco
1 crown tail betta
2 rasboras
1 cory cat
a few shrimp
C. King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 01:59 PM   #5
guster730
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Age: 19
Posts: 6
Default

I don't think there's anything I can do with mine to make it fit. Well, it'd fit but the light wouldn't go through. I have one that looks just like this http://www.petsmart.com/product/inde...AvailInUS%2FNo

I can take the lights off but the clear part to let the light through is only 4 inches long. I could get a new lid, but I don't know what would work well. I could go wihtout a lid but I'm just worried my clown loaches will jump out (one did before, thankfully while I was there feeding them).

Maybe something like this? http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...81&pcatid=3781

I could use two 24'' ones since mine has the center brace.

Last edited by guster730; 12-18-2012 at 02:10 PM.
guster730 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 02:43 PM   #6
lohachata
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Age: 69
Posts: 8,069
Default

for a 55 the 2 bulb T5 HO fixture from aquatraders is fine..i have several of these fixtures in use since 2009...i am very satisfied with them....i have found a place that sells the 6500k 48" bulbs for about $4.00 each.....
__________________
PLECOCAINE = feeding frenzy=PLECOCAINE


if we ignore nature;maybe it will go away

10 gallon..nothing but air

10 gallon...just more air

10 gallon...stale air

just don't ask about the rest
lohachata is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Going out of town... light or no light? mlefev Beginner Freshwater 5 04-20-2012 11:24 PM
Want to trade my 55 gal tank/light/lid for your 29 gal tank/light/lid melissasroja Want To Sell 0 10-13-2011 10:20 AM
Let Me Let There be Light!!! funlad3 Technology & Equipment 10 12-04-2010 09:48 PM
low-light plants in high light? trashion Aquatic Plants 7 11-09-2007 03:18 PM
Too much light, or not enough? MacD Aquatic Plants 5 08-24-2007 06:56 AM