Small pump for water changes - FishForums.com
Logo


members chatting


Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:



Go Back   FishForums.com > Freshwater > Equipment & Technologies

Equipment & Technologies Find out what the latest and greatest equipment is in the market today. Post your findings or view what others have tested.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2014, 07:25 PM   #1
Rebelution
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Central NY
Age: 34
Posts: 12
Default Small pump for water changes

Hello, i am looking for a small pump i can use for water changes preferably a pump that doesn't have to be submerged so i can use a hose on both the return and the intake of the pump. wondered if anyone here had any suggestions. doesn't have to push a crazy amount of water but i also don't want it to take 3 hours to change 20 gallons either. Thanks for any tips you might have!
Rebelution is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-27-2014, 09:52 PM   #2
emc7
Moderator

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 12,520
Default

http://www.jehmco.com/html/safety_si...ium_drain.html Call them up ask for recommendations. I have one of the ones you need submerge. I gravity siphon to a bucket and pump out the bucket.
emc7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 11:49 AM   #3
coralbandit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Saratoga,NY
Age: 52
Posts: 8
Default

If you don't submerge the pump then you will have to prime it manually everytime.Unless you are looking to spend WAY too much money to change water!I use rubbermaid barrels(garbage cans{32 &44G}) to prep and a pump that moves 900gph @3'.I change 32g in aprox.3-5 minutes.
If only for waterchanges look into Mags.
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 10-12-2014, 01:51 PM   #4
Elliott225
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Memphis
Age: 55
Posts: 347
Default

I used to do water changes using the Rubbermaid cans. I just used a big power head with a piece of the clear plastic tubing from it. Now I just use a garden hose. With the power head there is no priming as long as the head is submerged.
Elliott225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 05:23 PM   #5
toddnbecka
Senior Member
 
toddnbecka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 55
Posts: 580
Default

I use an aquaclear 110 powerhead with several yards of large diameter clear vinyl tubing from Lowe's and a 55 gallon rubbermaid trash can on a roller base for water changes. A few rubber bands around the rubber tubing makes a snug fit into the aquaclear, and an extension cord wrapped around the trash can allows me plenty of reach all around.
__________________

^ Please click on the eggs/dragons, thanx
toddnbecka is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply



Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water change pump austinroberts23 Equipment & Technologies 13 04-04-2012 08:29 AM
Water stops flowing from aquarium pump Danja Equipment & Technologies 4 08-01-2010 11:05 PM
how many small tetras per gallon of water David-P Beginner Freshwater 2 07-29-2007 10:38 PM
Powerful (over 2400 GPH) and silent water pump, possible thing ? pominator Equipment & Technologies 7 06-21-2007 09:03 PM
do they need water bubbles/pump? wingedjumper517 General Freshwater 15 03-31-2005 04:27 PM


 

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 2.4.0