Filterless Fish Tank! - FishForums.com
Logo


members chatting


Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:



Go Back   FishForums.com > General > FYI (For Your Info)

FYI (For Your Info) Find out if there are answers here that have already been answered about anything fish related, before you post your question.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2013, 09:41 AM   #1
Guppies
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Default Filterless Fish Tank!

OK so while looking for a substitute for a filter i found this article that shows you how to set up a fish tank with no filter:

http://www.sunny-stars.com/Pages/Fil...Fish_Tank.aspx

It talks about setting up and cycling a filterless tank (i think its pretty cool!)
Guppies is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-25-2013, 02:38 PM   #2
Vayurules
Always Learning
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Louisville, KY
Age: 15
Posts: 188
Default Filterless Fish Tank!

Yes, filterless aquariums are possible, but they gave you no example on what plants to use. (Anyone else notice they listed heater twice?) and really you could get a simple sponge filter set up cheaper than you could nicely plant an aquarium. Sponge filter are used in most breeding tanks, as to not suck up and kill baby shrimp and fry.


Sent from Petguide.com Free App
__________________
20 Gallon Rio Orinoco Biotope (High):
  • 1 Clown Pleco
Vayurules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 03:14 PM   #3
lohachata
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Age: 69
Posts: 8,084
Default

guppies.....how experienced are you at maintaining aquariums ?
filterless tanks really aren't for beginners....
almost all of our tanks have sponge filters ; but that is because we breed fish...if we set up a display tank it would be with either undergravel or canister or power filters....the only things that are filterless are some big pretzel jugs that we use for breeding shrimps..
__________________
PLECOCAINE = feeding frenzy=PLECOCAINE


if we ignore nature;maybe it will go away

10 gallon..nothing but air

10 gallon...just more air

10 gallon...stale air

just don't ask about the rest
lohachata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 04:11 PM   #4
emc7
Moderator

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 12,152
Default

Filterless is doable in 2 way. 100% water changes very frequently or a very low bioload to plant ratio. A few shrimp in a big bin of plants. It can work in large containers outside, certain plants will eat ammonia as fast as the animals can produce it.

But if you like any significant quantity of fish in a tank in a house, any filter, even a glob of filter floss stuck on the end of an air-line, will make your life so much easier allow you to keep a higher bio-load safely.
emc7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 04:30 PM   #5
C. King
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: SD
Posts: 448
Default

Guppies, after reading the article carefully, and comparing the advice given to my own aquarium experiences (personal as well as in the business) I have decided that it is either a spoof, or that it only proves the old adage that anyone can write anything they want, post it on the internet in a very respectable format, but it ain't necessarily so. There are sooo many issues not mentioned, and the writing reads like someone plagerized another article, throwing in the word "filterless" once in a while. This is my opinion only, but I would not consider it trustworthy. sorry.
__________________
20 gal; well planted
2 angelfish
4 cherrybarbs
5 cardinal tetras
1 dwarf gourami
3 oto catfish
1 bristlenose pleco
1 crown tail betta
2 rasboras
1 cory cat
a few shrimp
C. King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 05:23 PM   #6
emc7
Moderator

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 12,152
Default

Many natural bodies of water have no "filters" per se, but the fish per gallon number is really, really low. Fish we would keep in a 55 fill up a pond measured in thousands of gallons.

just because something can be done, doesn't make it a smart thing to do. If I lived in a place with sporadic power outages, I would try to stock my tank so that fish would survive "filterless", but i would still use a filter.

Last edited by emc7; 01-25-2013 at 05:25 PM.
emc7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filterless cycle? Guppies Beginner Freshwater 0 01-24-2013 04:05 PM
New SW tank updates, 1 new fish, new rock, one fish soon to be added. Albino_101 The Water Hole 13 05-31-2011 08:11 PM
35 Gallon tank- unique fish that won't outgrow the tank FishyMama79 General Freshwater 9 09-04-2008 08:29 PM
55 Gallon Fish tank everything Brand New exept tank in NY dino88 Want To Sell 0 09-30-2007 03:59 PM
Betta in a filterless container sarah5775 Bettas 4 09-07-2007 07:53 AM