Help me! I don't know how to feed my fish properly - FishForums.com
Logo

members chatting

Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:

Go Back   FishForums.com > Freshwater > General Freshwater

General Freshwater General Freshwater fish discussions

Old 10-10-2007, 11:35 AM   #1
sonicscape

Default Help me! I don't know how to feed my fish properly

Hi all,

I'm a newbie at rearing fish, started a small tank a month ago and kept about 10 neon tetras.

Just today, I added some new species in, including 6 guppies, 4 miniature puffer fish (not actually puffer fish, but they look like them - Im not sure what these species are, and also 5 white fish with are slightly larger than the neon tetras.

I tried feeding them today and noted this:
The white fish are VERY active, always swimming around very quickly.
Whenever I add food, the white fish gobble all the food up! Only some of the food gets to the tetras and guppies.
The mini puffer fish are always hiding at the bottom, and NO FOOD GETS TO THEM!

Im not sure what I should do. I read up some help guides and they instructed me to feed the active fish first, and while they are distracted, feed the less active fish. However, this is not working very well.

The mini puffer fish are still not getting any food.

Im considering removing the white fish for the greater good of the aquarium. Is this necessary? Will the less active fish die? Or will they find a way out themselves.
sonicscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-10-2007, 12:35 PM   #2
Danh