Can I cycle the tank without BioWheel? - FishForums.com
Logo


members chatting


Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:



Go Back   FishForums.com > Freshwater > General Freshwater

General Freshwater General Freshwater fish discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2012, 05:33 PM   #1
baker27marine
Fishy Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Age: 26
Posts: 27
Exclamation Can I cycle the tank without BioWheel?

Im setting up another fish tank 35g. The hood is an Eclipse with built in filter. I went to the fish store and bought the filter cartridge but they didnt have the BioWheel for it. They ordered it for me and it will come in a week. Can I setup the tank and start to cycle it without the BioWheel?
__________________
30g Tank:

4 Rosy Barbs
4 Black Ruby Barbs
2 Leopard Corys

20g Tank:

To Be Determined
baker27marine is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-17-2012, 06:43 PM   #2
j_diaz01
Member
 
j_diaz01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: California
Age: 24
Posts: 75
Default

The filter cartridge and gravel will hold some beneficial bacteria until the biowheel comes in. Just make sure you dont clean the filter cartridge with chlorinated water


Sent from my iPhone using Petguide.com Free App
j_diaz01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 07:28 PM   #3
baker27marine
Fishy Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Age: 26
Posts: 27
Default

@j_diaz01 thanks for the info
__________________
30g Tank:

4 Rosy Barbs
4 Black Ruby Barbs
2 Leopard Corys

20g Tank:

To Be Determined
baker27marine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 08:24 PM   #4
BV77
Moderator

 
BV77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,574
Default

yes it will cycle. The nitrifying bacteria grow everywhere, on the glass, gravel, in the filter on decorations etc. Of course more bacteria will grow on an area with more surface area than a flat space ie the glass.
BV77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:04 PM   #5
emc7
Moderator

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 12,127
Default

The filter cartridges actually do hold quite a bit. You don't even need the bio-wheels for the filter to work. Just don't toss both cartridges at once, and if you only have one, consider a second filter. You want want to discard your cycle. Bacteria does grow everywhere, but its the water flowing past that carries what they eat, so a whole lot more can live where the water is moving most, like in the filter, without going hungry.
emc7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 10:50 PM   #6
baker27marine
Fishy Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Age: 26
Posts: 27
Default

ok thanks all
__________________
30g Tank:

4 Rosy Barbs
4 Black Ruby Barbs
2 Leopard Corys

20g Tank:

To Be Determined
baker27marine is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Biowheel and Phytoplex rokkerkid7786 General Freshwater 13 01-06-2011 01:18 AM
putting filter and biowheel on different tank???? MustangPony General Saltwater 1 07-14-2008 07:53 AM
New Biowheel Betta1 General Freshwater 5 07-18-2007 07:36 PM
Safe for biowheel? RazorDX Diseases 2 11-16-2006 08:33 PM
Biowheel karatelovr General Freshwater 4 06-30-2005 04:28 PM