Sump for freshwater aquarium - FishForums.com
Logo

members chatting

Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:

Go Back   FishForums.com > Freshwater > General Freshwater

General Freshwater General Freshwater fish discussions

Old 01-07-2013, 09:42 AM   #1
jblasto

Default Sump for freshwater aquarium

Can anyone direct me to a simple diagram or instructions on what a freshwater sump would need in it (if I constructed it)? I have read a lot on this and I really need instructions for a complete newb. I understand I don't need a skimmer and I don't need a mechanism to eliminate bubbles (I forget what that section is called). I think I'm going to use the herbie method for my overflow and put the drain directly into the water so there's no splashing. I'm just unclear on the exact # of chambers to make a GREAT freshwater sump and what goes in these chambers. Like I said, I'm a newb. The holding tank is 100 gallon and the tank I have for the sump is a 30 gallon. I have yet to divide the 30 gallon tank in any way. Thanks for any advice.
jblasto is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-07-2013, 01:02 PM   #2
jblasto

for example I have read this online regarding a freshwater tank sump:

"Sump laid out. four sector with first sector being mechanical filtration, second sector bio filtration, third sector chemical filtration and finally return chamber.

Media used: 2 kilo of lava rock, 2 kilo of bio ring, 12 cones of bacteria home, green bio mat, black sponge, German glass wool, biohome plus."

Now I sort of understand that this sump is done in 4 sections. Now, the media used? Is this media they are using within the sump? If so which items of media are going in which sector of the sump? Thanks for any help.
jblasto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 02:06 PM   #3
emc7