PH Keeps dropping. Are my readings false? Am I able to test PH after adding substrate - FishForums.com
Logo


members chatting


Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:



Go Back   FishForums.com > Freshwater > General Freshwater

General Freshwater General Freshwater fish discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2013, 07:22 AM   #1
jblasto
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Age: 38
Posts: 55
Default PH Keeps dropping. Are my readings false? Am I able to test PH after adding substrate

I just set up and planted my aquarium using a substrate called aquadurt. I have a PH probe that runs out of my sump back up to the tank and it keeps showing a steady drop of PH over time from when I put clean water in (7.9) from the tap which will drop to around (4.9) after about 8 hours. The guys at the pet store told me that the probe will give false readings until all the particles from the substrate settle. That the probe is reading the cloudy water and miscalculating the PH. How long should this last though? The tank looks relatively clear. It was planted yesterday and although it was indeed cloudy afterwards seems like these results should return to normal? It also seems crazy to me that me filling the tank with 7.9 water and it shifting to be that (4.9) acidic over and over is impossible. (I have done huge water changes three times before calling the store which was when they mentioned the high likelihood of false probe readings).

My concern is that 4.9 PH (if it is accurate) is too low for the plants. I need at least a ph of 6 and thus means I need to keep doing water changes. Any advice such as "leave it alone, it will return to normal readings in a week after settling"? ... or "Keep changing the water! It will kill those plants!" heh... Thanks.
jblasto is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2013, 10:57 AM   #2
emc7
Moderator

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 12,002
Default

Many plant substrates have peat-like stuff in them that will drop pH, so will CO2. Take a sample from the filter output and test that. Double check with a liquid test, they are cheap. Low-pH isn't incompatible with planted tank, many tanks with CO2 drop down when it is on and go back up when it is off. I'd only worry about the fishl
emc7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 04:35 PM   #3
TheOldSalt
Darth Ichthyos

 
TheOldSalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,574
Default

Stop changing water and wait to see what happens. If it really IS dropping the pH that much, then the last thing you need is the rollercoaster effect.
TheOldSalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 04:50 PM   #4
emc7
Moderator

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 12,002
Default

Are you cleaning the probe? It sounds great to put it in and leave it in, but accuracy may require both cleaning and calibrating. Do you have standard solutions?
emc7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:48 AM   #5
kcrunch
Senior Member
 
kcrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 672
Default

There is a substrate on drfosters that is called rift lake sand it is a whitish color it will surely keep your PH balanced
__________________
Failure is not an Option!
mixed Rift Lake Cichlids
Todays challenges were yesterday obstacles.
kcrunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 01:07 PM   #6
lohachata
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Age: 68
Posts: 7,775
Default

any time you are using test equipment it needs to be cleaned properly...that means washing and rinsing it with deionized water and allowing to air dry...
probes need to be constantly calibrated...that may well be the problem..
__________________
PLECOCAINE = feeding frenzy=PLECOCAINE


if we ignore nature;maybe it will go away

10 gallon..nothing but air

10 gallon...just more air

10 gallon...stale air

just don't ask about the rest
lohachata is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with Damsel and False Percula Clown jasno999 General Saltwater 5 01-16-2009 06:32 PM
False Julii Corydoras dolifisis The Hatchery 0 12-21-2007 03:02 PM
My readings after substrate change blakeoe Beginner Freshwater 1 07-12-2005 11:57 AM
false test reading? Bernie Beginner Freshwater 7 02-27-2005 10:11 PM