Affects of Nitrate on fish - FishForums.com
Logo

members chatting

Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:

Go Back   FishForums.com > Saltwater > General Saltwater

General Saltwater General Saltwater discussions

Old 02-22-2005, 08:17 AM   #1
Tetanus

Default Affects of Nitrate on fish

Hi

I have heard many things about nitrate and fish but they mostly seem to conflict with each other. Some people say that it will do damage to fish and others are saying that it doesn't do anything to them. I have been keeping a fish only system for a few years now and have always had problems with nitrate an have had fish die for no reason at all as far as i can see. I have always thought that this was dew to nitrate but recently i have been told otherwise by someone i work with who breeds clownfish. Can some one please clear this up for me and give me a definitive answer on the matter for tropical and marine. All help on the matter is appreciated.
Tetanus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-22-2005, 07:47 PM   #2
fishfreaks
*M&F* Couple

Default Re: Affects of Nitrate on fish

ive heard that theyre very dangerous at high levels
fishfreaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 11:39 PM   #3
Osiris

on just marine fish i believe up to 30ppm is ok, but shouldnt be that diffcult to keep it way lower then that. As lower the better, now if u have corals and stuff in it, u want 0 accross the board.
Old 02-28-2005, 04:33 PM   #4
Sly Guy

Default Re: Affects of Nitrate on fish

http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issu...t2003/chem.htm

just something to look at 0 is the best of course but up to 40 in freswater and saltwater is okay but if it is that high i would be doing something
Sly Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 09:39 PM   #5
wrasser