Fish dying in new pond. - FishForums.com
Logo

members chatting

Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:

Go Back   FishForums.com > Freshwater > Goldfish, Koi, and Ponds

Goldfish, Koi, and Ponds Discussions about Goldfish, Koi, and Ponds

Old 12-18-2012, 02:41 AM   #1
KiwiMako

Default Fish dying in new pond.

Hi all,

I am a noob to ponds and most of all fish so please take that into account when rolling your eyes at the many errors I may have made to this point.

First and foremost I live in a coastal spot in New Zealand where the climate is pretty timid all year around. I had a little spare time on my hands this summer so I decided to create a water feature. I did a little investigating and chatted with a few people about good and bad things to take into account. About 6 weeks later and I have a 7-8000 litre Firestone lined pond, running a "Pondone" Clari Tec 10000UV filter with a 24/7 waterfall supplied by a 6000l/hr pump (I'm actually only getting 3600 due to head pressure resistance).

I used concrete to lock in the rocks surrounding the pond and to fabricate parts of the waterfall so I washed everything down well and pumped out before filling the pond. I then ran the pump for a week before introducing 5 Lilys and one Lotus. A week or so later I added a 3ft fish tunnel & 4 (50mm) Comet goldfish. They seemed happy enough after 4 days so I introduced 6 Fantails (120-160mm) and a few buckets of fresh water weed from a local river.