Ideas ? - FishForums.com
Logo

members chatting

Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:

Go Back   FishForums.com > Freshwater > Livebearers

Livebearers Discussions about Livebearers.

Old 11-07-2012, 12:15 PM   #1
sunsation72

Default Ideas ?

I am wondering what other types of fish to stock my tank with.

I have a 38 gallon hexagon tank... with a Rena Filstar XP filter, and right now I have 5 guppies, 1 tiger striped pleco, 1 swordtail and 1 dalmation molly.

I want to get a few more guppies and wondered what other people have put in their tanks? I am a newbie so a hardy fish works best for me.

Will the swordtail and molly be happier if I have an opposite gender for each? My Molly is female, and the swordtail is male. No clue what gender the pleco is but he's going to be a bachelor in my tank.

I have a nice artificial plant in the middle of the tank where fry can hide so I'm hoping some of the fish mate.

How many fish are recommended to add at a time? The ones that are in there now are doing great.
sunsation72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-07-2012, 09:53 PM   #2
IAoddball
Oddball Keeper

If you get anymore guppies, their liable to breed like wildfire! Swordtails and mollies alike. With a tank like that, with that stock list, I would maybe look into some danio's or maybe even tiger barbs. It's just my opinion, it could work.

29g Breeding Tank:
2 Angelfish

55g Grow out Tank:
4 juvenile Angelfish
8" sailfin pleco
2" spotted highfin pleco

55g Breeding Tank:
L-066 King Tiger Pleco project

10g Betta Tank
IAoddball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 06:32 AM   #3
sunsation72