guppy colour genetics - FishForums.com
Logo

members chatting

Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:

Go Back   FishForums.com > Freshwater > Livebearers

Livebearers Discussions about Livebearers.

Old 07-19-2005, 08:57 PM   #1
guppyart
Naked wookie

Default guppy colour genetics

okay I have been breeding guppies for 3 years now and I have never seen any info on colour genetics. I would like to know what colours are domninant or recessive genes as well as patterns and there genes. I am currently trying to keep a yellow snakeskin pattern going the male is whitish and the snakeskin pattern is yellow and I need more info for breeding him. I have his siblings still and I would like to know what breeding program should I use to perfect him linebreeding inbreeding or outcrossing I have 4 tanks for doing this in.

The genetics I have knowledge of are.
Albino(aa).
Blond(bb).
Gold (gg).
Blue (rr ).
double recessive colours
WHITE(Blond x Blue, bbrr)
CREME(Blond x Gold, bbgg)
SILVER(Gold x Blue, ggrr)
Advertisement

Old 07-19-2005, 10:54 PM   #2
TheOldSalt
Darth Ichthyos

Entire books have been written on this, but most of them only say "we don't know much yet."
I'll sift through some of them and get back to you with what I find. I've also been scouring the internet for this info over the past few days, so there's some more for me to look through for the answers.
TheOldSalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2005, 11:04 PM   #3
guppyart
Naked wookie

Originally Posted by TheOldSalt
Entire books have been written on this, but most of them only say "we don't know much yet."
I'll sift through some of them and get back to you with what I find. I've also been scouring the internet for this info over the past few days, so there's some more for me to look through for the answers.