Beginner Corals for a 55 Gallon Reef Tank - FishForums.com
Logo

members chatting

Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:

Go Back   FishForums.com > Saltwater > Reef

Reef Discuss the aspects of Reef Tanks .

Old 07-01-2010, 06:15 PM   #1
DTetras2
Starting over!

Question Beginner Corals for a 55 Gallon Reef Tank

Hey I just got a 55 gallon tank at petco because of there $1 per gallon sale and I'm not putting anything in it for a while, but I've been doing a lot of research on saltwater aquariums and fish, but i'm just starting to learn about corals and i definitely want to make it a reef tank, so what are some hardy, beginner corals that i can put in this 55 gallon tank? Also, are there any "hardy", "easy to take care of" anemones that i could research and put in this tank?
DTetras2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-01-2010, 08:01 PM   #2
Tallonebball

I think leathers, mushrooms, xenia, and star polyps are the hardiest corals out there.
Condi anemones are very hardy but I don't recommend them.
Have you done the research in how much money you are willing to spend on this tank? corals make it more expensive.
Why do I love fish? You can't pet them, you can't play with them, you can't teach them tricks, they aren't warm and fuzzy... Why do I love fish? Because every time I stare into their little world I have created for them, every problem I have just floats away....

72 gal Eel tank
90 gal Reef
110 gal "Cube Tank" Amazon Angelfish tank
Tallonebball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 08:57 PM   #3
Fishfirst
Fish Guru

More questions must be asked before even suggesting corals... such as, what kind of filtration, flow, and lighting are you planning for this tank?
Also don't buy livestock from petco. I have first hand experiance that their fish, corals, and invertebrates are hazardous to tank health.