My 56 gallon tank from start to finish - Page 2 - FishForums.com
Logo


members chatting


Welcome to the FishForums.com.

Find the answers to your fish problems or questions here on FishForums.com by using the search box below:



Go Back   FishForums.com > Users > User Journals

User Journals Want your own blog?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2011, 09:59 PM   #16
grogan
A piece of the amazon
 
grogan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Age: 29
Posts: 1,247
Default

Hmm that tank size looks familiar...I love the 56g. I would rather have a deep tank than a long narrow tank any day. Great job on the scape
grogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-28-2011, 11:12 AM   #17
Discordia
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ohio
Age: 28
Posts: 89
Default

I love your background! Looks very nice.. I wouldn't mind something similiar for the 30 I am going to set up.
Discordia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 10:10 AM   #18
Blackmoons
Fishy Member
 
Blackmoons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New Jersey
Age: 27
Posts: 25
Default

It's been a while since I've written, and I could use some help.

My tank has gone through some issues. I had a fish die and I think maybe I didn't find it very quickly and suddenly it seemed like my nitrates were through the roof. Well more fish started dying despite my frequent water changes and regular filter maintenance. I gave up my pleco to a new home (a 200 gallon tank) as I thought the enormous waste he puts out probably wasn't helping things. I also scaled back feeding to once every other day or every two days because I feared I was simply feeding too much.

Still, I couldn't seem to get the nitrates on track and algae started going crazy. I am down to five fish: 2 buenos aires tetra (from my original three that were the first in this tank), two rosy barb and one rubber lip pleco that is only about an inch and a half long.

I am doing weekly water changes of about 15 gallons. I'm completely confused. I have read about high phosphates being an issue (I don't currently have a test kit for that - I use those silly test strips for convenience purposes) but I don't know if that is the case here. I know the nitrates are high for sure. I also know my tap water tests safe as far as nitrates but not zero. And I wonder if perhaps there are high phosphate levels in the tap water.

Any suggestions!? What can I do to get things back on track?
Blackmoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So you want to start a tank. Toshogu Beginner Freshwater 0 12-13-2009 01:40 AM
from stained to black finish??? locojay DIY (Do It Yourself) 18 03-30-2007 06:39 AM
how to start up a 5 gallon tank... liljj Beginner Freshwater 14 03-30-2006 12:53 PM
How would you finish my tank?? Fishnoob78 Cichlids 2 03-28-2006 02:13 PM
Need some suggestions to finish my tank.. Fishnoob78 Cichlids 5 02-08-2006 12:18 PM