Fish Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to cichlids and im wondering what and how many cichlid can live in a 10 gallon aquarium (no tankmates if necessary). :?::?:

·
Registered
582 Posts
As I stated in your previous thread:

No cichlids are suitable for 10 gallon

·
Premium Member
1,701 Posts
You mean a pair of apistos or shellies couldn't live in a ten gal? OMG then I must have done some terrible things in the past. How many and what kinds of cichlids do you have experience with raising and breeding. Just curious.

·
Registered
582 Posts
Apistos, Rams and Kribensis, despite their relatively small size, need much larger tanks for stability and territories, ideally over 20 gallon.

10 gal is fine for use as a breeding tank, not for long term use. Sorry

·
Swimming
404 Posts
I read that sometimes when you move a pair of cichlids to a new tank, the bond will break and havoc might arise. And in a ten gallon, there's only so much hiding space for the losing fish.

A single fish might be better. Many people keep single Oscars (in 75 gallons or larger, of course) as pets more than ornamental fish.

I suppose you could keep a single dwarf. Someone please correct me if this is not right...I have a bachelor convict (he's about two and a half inches) in a ten and he's all colored up and thriving. He is a bit messy so I change the water 20% twice a week.

If you have your heart set on cichlids, save up for a few more months and get yourself a really nice 40 gallon breeder/long tank. :)

·
Perfect Water - BÖC
2,819 Posts
"If you have your heart set on cichlids, save up for a few more months and get yourself a really nice 40 gallon breeder/long tank."

I disagree. It should say this:

If you have your heart set on cichlids, save up for a few more months and get yourself the largest tank you can afford.