Fish Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Independant
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got two 10gal tanks with double red endlers from Adrian H. who got them from Armando Pou. Also have 2 5gal hexes with ednlers from others.
I have a few friends who are interested in them, but the 2 lfs have never heard of them.
I don't care I like them, they are a colorful and prolific little fish.
Anybody else have an interest in them? Or info?

·
Registered
354 Posts
Endler's are really neat little fish! About 2 years ago, I had a 10g with about 6 Endler's in it. Their care is basically like that of guppies, as they are closely related (they'll hybridize with guppies if given the chance). Their taxonomy hasn't officially been decided upon, and they're currently being refered to as Poecilla sp.. Some scientists consider them a subspecies of the guppy, and some consider them a separate species. I personally like them better than guppies! :D

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hello!
I work as an aquarist at my local pet store. We keep Endlers there too, only they come to us from our supplier under the name "Feeder Guppies" and sell for fifteen cents each! Many people take them home to keep as pets, and I have observed that they breed well with Fancy Guppies- you can get some beautiful colour variations, and the fry tends to be much more resilient than many batches of Fancy fry I've seen(I'm thinking it may have to do with the considerable inbreeding some Fancies have gone through). I also think the Endlers are refreshing to look at after seeing Guppies all day...they just look more....natural and unique to me i guess.