Fish Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, my name is Ronnie and I am a total newbie thinkin on getting a tank.
So far I have read as much as possible and I am thinking to start with some betas in a 40 gal tank with some tetras, swordtails and I really want at least one cory catfish.

I was thinking getting a freshwater tank with 3 or 4 tetras, 3 or 4 swordtails and 2 catfishes (so max 10 fish).

Are those numbers okay? Or should I get a bigger thank?

I was reading that the minimum is to have 1 inch of fish for 1 or 2 gallons of water, but I am trying to give them way more space (more is always better) so I can put pretty decorations inside too and they will still have enough space (don't worry, I don't plan to fill the tank with deco stuff ! hehehe
but I would like to put little hideouts and things like that).

I am happy to be here and learn <3

·
Super Moderator
8,473 Posts
Welcome to Fishforums Ronnie. if you plan on keeping several bettas in 1 tank they had best be all females as the males do fight.A 40 gallon tank is plenty big enough for a bunch of smaller fish. tetras are schooling fish and cories like to be in groups of 6 or more as well. tetras will sometimes nip at fins of other fishes ; after all they are cousins of Piranhas.
Join your local aquarium society or fish club.great places to learn and also to get fish and supplies.
This is a great hobby.I started with a 10 gallon tank.within 2 years I had more than 150 of them and thousands of fish. I started in 1973.I am now 76 years old and my health has made it too hard to keep fish anymore but I am still involved in the hobby .I sell tropical fish food. far less demanding.
Again , welcome to Fishforums ; come on in , the water's great.

• Love
Reactions: Woodieroonie

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·