Fish Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,
   I'm just getting into this fish thing.  I have a tank thats about 2 gal. with a pump for air and 3 neon tetras.  I know here I should've tested my water before putting the fish in, but that how I did it when I was little and my fishes lasted and I didn't know till I got on here.  I feed them tropical fish flakes once a day.  If anyone has advice I'd appriciate it.  Should I be changeing that water, using chemicals, what?  

If anyone has a 20 gal. or so tank and accessories for sale let me know.  Especially around my area.  
<<< Should say where I live over there on the side.

·
Registered
14,961 Posts
Well welcome to the aquarium world, again.
I should start by asking a few questions.
Are you using tap water for your water source? If so are you treating the water?
There are many chemical in our water to make it safe for us to drink, along with heavy metals. These chemicals are toxic to fish especially delicate ones like neons. You need a dechlorinator at the very least. This will neutralize chlorine and chloramines from your water. There are various ones out there. I suggest getting one that adds electrolytes also.

Is there a heater in your bowl? Neons are tropical fish and thus need a steady temp of around 79 degrees. This is very important also as lower temps will stress the fish out and make them succeptable to disease.

Neons are also a schooling fish and need to be in groups of 5 or more. Any less and they are stressed. There is safety in numbers...........