Fish Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2,210 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, hello!
I tend to build a tank for discuses. What subtrate should I use? Is sand okay?
About plants, what do you guys suggest?
And, cuz I'm new to discus, too. So, please help me, any advice is useful!
Thanks alot!

·
Registered
788 Posts
Well this is the Betta area, but I've bred many discus. If this isn't going to be a show tank then a bare bottom is much better because they are much easier to keep clean. Sand would work, but it does get kicked around pretty easy. Be careful of the kind of snd you get becuase some of the "playsands" are being used in salt tank because they keep the PH up and that is not what you want for discus. I would use Java Fern for your discus tank. They grow very well in almost any PH or lighting .

RC

·
Registered
2,210 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Kay, thanks! Well, Most of the sand here is from the ocean, it may a bit difficult to find such thing, I may need to go find it my self in the South of the country.
Anyway, can Java Fern be planted in pots? I find pot-planting simple and inexpensive.

·
Registered
788 Posts
Java fern can be pot planted, hooked to anything in the tank or even left floating. Discus are very sensitive to ALL things. You need to keep the water very clean and stable. Discus will not breed in high PH water, but they can be kept in it 7 -7.5 without a problem. When I had discus I did 50% water changes every other day.

RC

·
Registered
2,210 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
???lil_jess????
Well, yeah, I know that. So I'll need a lot of help when the discus tank of mine being established.
Well, can the discuses go with other fish easily? If yes, what should I keep with them? How about lighting condition?
Thanks alot!

·
Registered
2,210 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I see, thanks. Ah, I really want to make it as a "natural snapshot" so can I add some angels in?
Thanks!

·
Registered
788 Posts