Fish Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys, I've recently got into the whole aquarium hobby after really enjoying taking care of my betta, Walter. I've been keeping fish for a few months now and have a couple questions. My current tank is five gallons with Walter, a ghost shrimp (probably adding more soon to replace the causalties), a couple of small leopard cories, four neons, and a guppy. I've just purchased a ten gal too.

1. Over the past few weeks, I've noticed this white foam/ bubble kind of stuff along the edge of the water surface and even coming out of the filter at times. I was wanting to know what it is and how to get rid of it, if its harmful.

-I've been doing more partial water changes and replaced my filter cartridge (but I cut up old one up and left the filter floss-like stuff and rocks for bio filtration next to the new cartridge). This has helped the problem, but not been a complete fix. Suggestions?

2. Would buying making my own filter cartridges be better for my tank? I could use filter floss, a bag bio balls, and maybe a bag of the carbon chemical filtration stuff. Thoughts?

Thanks,
Marc

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I can't see the photo, but hopefully you can. Do you know how i could get it to show up? There's another thread about this same issue, though, and a lack of surface agitation seems to be the likely culprit. What do you think about that?

Attachments

·
Registered
35 Posts
Not like a nest, it just looks like really thick, kind of bubbles. and no i cant see the picture! i have no idea how to make it appear. I have no idea what you mean by that haha. When that happened in my betta tank, there was really not much i could do. i just did more water changes. i also noticed whenever there were bubbles, the tank was pretty warm. is the temperature normal?

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·